Senior year – The Best Year Ever!

Hey everyone! I hope you’re having a great week and enjoying the spring weather!

Yesterday I lazily rolled out of bed and went to work at 9:30am. Since high school I’ve made the habit of waking up about 2 hours before I have to leave. If I have a test to study for I’ll wake up even earlier so I can study when I’m at my best, which is in the mornings. I LOVE mornings. Call me crazy but there’s just some wonderful satisfaction in waking up even though I’m tired and everyone else is asleep. I love exerting my will power and discipline whenever I can!

Buttttttt…. since I’m in my senior year of undergrad and my classes are not nearly as difficult as my previous pre-med courses, I’ve loosened up a TON and 1.5-2 hours is usually the earliest I’ll get up before I leave. I’ve had an amazing year. Now that I’ve been accepted to med school I can breath a giant sigh of relief and focus on appreciating the time I have left before I crack down on the medical school studying.

blog.jpg

Image from puckermob.com

It almost feels like I’ve been told that I’m going to die in 4 months (the start of medical school). But not in a bad way – in a “I’m going to use this time I have left to do as much as I can and be as happy as I can” and the death part isn’t so bad – like looking forward to heaven (maybe not exactly what it’ll be like but I love studying and medicine so pretty close…)

But anyway, I’ve never been happier because I’m finally doing all the little things I said I’d do when I wasn’t studying, not partying/drinking but like crossing things off my bucket list and starting projects that I’ve always wanted to do.

My exercise schedule has been great too because every time I don’t want to workout I just picture myself laboriously studying away wishing I could spare an extra hour to workout. Or all the times I worked out last year and wanted to spend an extra hour but couldn’t. Getting in as much as I can before it’s limited is a HUGE motivator for me!

I’ve noticed a similar trend with my time spent with family and friends. I’ve missed many girlfriend-dates and events/vacations with my family but now I’ve given every single one a green light! I’m even skipping an important class in a couple weeks just so I can go to my Grandma’s Birthday weekend party – something I’d never think about doing before!

HTE_Heart-300x277.jpg

Image from peterborden.com

But oddly enough, I’ve found that even though I’ve given myself the green light to do whatever my heart pleases I’ve been healthier and more on-top of my responsibilities than ever. It’s an odd phenomenon. I think it’s because I’ve started to see self-care as a reward that I shouldn’t take for granted. My rewards aren’t a night-out drinking or a day spent laying in bed in my pajamas binge-watching Netflix (although I still watch too much Netflix).

Instead I’ve noticed how much studying and productivity make me happy. Truly happy. For a while I was worried that maybe I’m just the kind of person who would rather have a leisurely-relaxed life that wasn’t compatible with medicine. But from the past several months I’ve found confidence in the fact that even when I don’t have the pressure on me to get the best grades and study all the time I can still crack and down, learn, and be disciplined – just because I want to.

085a1c17f236fb179348f8cdf7dd7f2c.jpg

I love this quote!

Doing things just because I want to has always been a big motivator – some people do things because they have to but I see it more as putting in the work because I want to. I chose this life even though I didn’t have to and that makes me work that much harder.

Questions for YOU:

What motivates you?

How do you spend your down time?

Do you love being disciplined or working hard?

Email me anytime with questions or thoughts at missdoctorfoodie@gmail.com 🙂

Leave a Reply

