Starbucks Made Healthy and Getting Through a Rut

Hey everyone! It’s Wednesday, which is my second favorite day, next to Monday. I just love  the mid-week push to get everything done and this morning I woke up extra early and headed off to school to get some studying and papers out of the way!

Lately I’ve actually been pretty down. I attribute it mostly to fluctuating hormones and friend issues but I am having a hard time straightening out my mindset and putting a big smile on my face.

Of course, it’s very very common to have low periods of time and the first couple years in undergrad I struggled much more. This is odd for me because it hasn’t happened in a year!

Winters are generally dark and cold here in the Midwest and I don’t get to go out on runs and walks as much. But this year I made sure to stick religiously to my workout schedule and find ways to brighten my mood. It worked! But now it’s getting sunny and I’m feeling less than motivated to power through a resistance workout or to keep myself from tearing up!

Howeverrrrr, there is a bright side and that is I feel fully prepared and ready to overcome this low spot. And it’s actually been working. I swear our minds are the most powerful and beautiful things in the world.

Here’s what I’ve been doing to get out of a rut:

  • Smile – I try to catch myself any time I start having negative thoughts about life, myself, or other people and to remember how lucky I am to be here.
  • Mediate/Pray – This one has been hard for me lately but I’ve actually found yoga helps a lot with the peace of my mind. (Try Bikram yoga on youtube – there’s a quick 30 min. one and I love that flow)
  • Plan quick pick-me-ups throughout the day – For me this generally means food. Haha.
    • Breakfast – I always plan a breakfast I love and that will keep me full + it makes me want to get out of bed in the morning (I know, weird.)
    • Mid-afternoon/lunch – Starbucks green tea + mango lemonade – it’s sweet and delicious and I enjoy it guilt free now w/ the inexpensive and healthy recipe I’ve shared below.
    • Late night – I either have a grapefruit for desert or a bowl of greek yogurt mixed with half a scoop of chocolate protein powder and a couple of dates, maybe drizzled with almond butter. It makes me feel like I’m never deprived of sweets!
  • Try new things/workouts – Even though I’m so busy I decided I needed to add something extra that would make me happy throughout the week and that happens to be 2-3 outdoor runs lasting about 40-45 minutes. I also gave myself the freedom to skip one resistance workout a week and replace it with yoga or just plain old stretching. It’s been great.
  • Shopping – Spending money generally doesn’t make me very happy but I know I need several things for my trip to Europe that is coming up in 4 short weeks and giving myself the go-ahead to spend that moolah takes some stress out of it.
  • Remembering to just make the “next right choice” – this is something a mentor of mine told me and I swear it makes a huge difference even though it’s so simple!
    • It goes like this: If you just focus on making the next best choice at the time you will always end up in the right place because you did the best you could with the knowledge you had. It helps me when I’m trying to decide between a nap or going to an academic meeting or between going to sleep or watching a movie on Netflix. Or even when I’m trying to figure out how to handle a friend problem.

And now for my amazingly delicious Starbucks drink made Inexpensive and Healthy:

*** I hate plain green tea but I am trying SOOO hard to substitute my second cup of coffee in the day with green tea. Since I love the Mango green tea at Starbucks (which is like 4$ and has a little too much sweetener) I decided to try and make it at home instead. Enjoy!

You can make this in smaller batches as well (for example 1 tea bag + 8oz water + 3 oz mango lemonade once the tea has cooled.)

IMG_4641.JPG

  1. Buy your favorite plain green tea (I tried to find Organic) This box of 20 tea bags was only $2.50. Buy a mango lemonade with a small amount of ingredients and no added sweetener. It will have sugar but a little bit of natural sweetener never hurt anyone. 🙂
  2. Make the tea.
    1. I heated up water using a hot water heater.IMG_4643.JPG
    2. I added 10 tea bags to a huge bowl and poured the water on top.IMG_4642.JPG
    3. Let it steep for 10 minutes.
    4. Remove tea bags and add about 1 cup ice cubes.
    5. Once all cooled, add the container of juice (I chose Mango Lemonade).
      1. I’m going to try adding less each time.
    6. Store in the fridge and enjoy over ice anytime!

 

IMG_4760.JPG

These are my two best friends from the first day of freshman year! We all received awards at the Senior Award Ceremony! (I’m in the middle)

I would LOVE to hear any tips or tricks you have for me on how to get out a rut/low spot. I’m sure I missed some things and I’d love to hear your thoughts!

  • Tips and tricks for getting out of a rut
  • Did you try the Mango Green tea recipe?
  • Want more healthy recipes?

As always, you can email me anytime at missdoctorfoodie@gmail.com or comment below!

Don’t forget to Subscribe!! (Bottom right corner)

 

Leave a Reply

