Soy milk vs. Almond or Coconut milk

Good morning bloggers! It’s a sunny Saturday morning in the middle of Spring and it is GORGEOUS out. I can’t wait until summer.

I’m up early again because my sister and I had to drive home this morning for her confirmation! I’m actually her sponsor and it is such a huge honor. šŸ™‚ She’s an amazing 16 year old girl and I’m so proud to be her sister! I have 2 other sisters and a little brother – a big family! I loved growing up with 4 younger siblings all close in age even though it got pretty crazy haha.

So this morning we woke up, washed our faces and grabbed a quick breakfast before we headed out the door.

o-AVOCADO-TOAST-facebook.jpg

Avocado toast with egg whites on the side is my go-to breakfast. I also add a bunch of Siracha on top of the eggs. Btw, this is a picture I got online because mine never looks nearly as pretty!

My quick breakfast was a piece of Chia seed gluten free bread (Udi’s brand which I don’t like very much but that’s all we had) and topped it with about 1/4 mashed avocado – I LOVE that combo. Then to get a little bit of protein in I ate a couple bites of plain nonfat greek Oikos yogurt. I always try to get a good balance of healthy carbs, fats, and protein in my breakfast and every big meal. Avocado toast is a great way to get carbs + healthy fat and then adding a couple egg whites or yogurt on the side makes it complete!

1571.jpg

 

 

I filled up a huge water bottle with water and we left – no coffee ahhh!

The drive home was pretty rough half way through because we were starting to feel the no coffee decision… It was bad. We even called our dad to make sure he had coffee ready for us right when we got home.

promise.png

When we got home, about 2 hours later, I had some leftover Paella – Ā it’s an authentic dish from Spain that my mom has perfected since her time living there. It’s delicious! I couldn’t pass up trying some even though it’s made with white rice and chorizo but I picked out tons of shrimp and ate it all up YUM.

Bw344EBIUAAzdp2.jpg

This is a traditional paellaĀ 

I also had a grapefruit and a BIG cup of coffee mixed with coconut milk because we have no soy milk or creamer. I usually add about 2 tablespoons or so of soy milk (generally the original unsweetened kind or vanilla unsweetened).

coco-milk-unsweetened.png

I know there’s a lot of controversy over soy right now and its’ health benefits but I personally love the taste and I think it makes me feel better throughout the day plus it has more protein than almond or coconut milk. TheĀ important thing to look for when buying soy milk is making sure it’s nonGMO, organic, and has little to no added sweeteners. The brand from Whole Food’s is good!

product_695.jpg

Another reason why I choose soy milk over almond milk is that soy milk tends to be creamier and I need less of it in my coffee. I do use it in my green smoothies and I think I’m going to try to switch to using half water/half soy milk because I use quite a bit to make the smoothie.

milk.png

This is from AndreaTooley.com – her blog is AMAZING! I think she prefers Almond milk but it’s up to you to decide what’s best for you!

 

I know plenty of people (my sister and mom included) who can’t tolerate soy very well but for me I love it and I’m gonna keep drinking away until they tear it away from me!

Let me know what kind of milk you drink and why?!

Do you have any really good reasons why I should stop consuming soy?

As always make sure to SUBSCRIBE and email me at MissDoctorFoodie@gmail.com!

Leave a Reply

