Day 1 of the Shape-Up Challenge: Failing, BCAAs, and Saying No to Gelato

Hey everybody! It’s the first day of the shape up challenge and it’s been pretty weird for me because I’m still traveling!

I woke up this morning around 8am at my aunt’s house and had some steel cut oats with frozen blueberries and a Chobani Greek yogurt. Of course I had to have some coffee with a little creamer!

k2-_781f1689-6087-4d38-a927-7ae13356e962.v1.jpg
Eating while traveling hardly ever satisfies me sadly. I hate being out of my routine and eating food that doesn’t make me feel good.

And sitting for 6 hours in the car doesn’t help either.

I downloaded a podcast (A NPR Ted talk on tolerance – I recommend it!) and listened to that and then googled some packing tips for Europe.

At about 10am I got bored and hungry and had some Skinny (it’s the brand name) Popcorn and then made myself wait for lunch. It wasn’t easy. LOL. Why is it that I get so hungry in the car when all I’m doing is sitting?!?

792-0001.jpg

I think it’s the boredom.

And then I screwed up. Only 4 hours into the challenge I failed and ate a piece of Ghiredelli mint dark chocolate.

ghirardelli-chocolate-dark-squares-139115.jpg

I had this one tempting little square. I can’t believe I gave in so easily!

LOL. What is my life.

In my defense, we missed our stop for lunch so I was super hungry and had been eyeing that chocolate all weekend.

What matters when you slip up or go overboard is that you:

1) recognize it and let it go and

2) get right back on track with eating clean. So I could’ve said f-it I’m going to eat those other 3 pieces of chocolate and have French fries and ice cream for lunch. But of course I didn’t and you shouldn’t either. Be positive and remember little decisions make all the difference!

Oh well! 🙂 Moving onnnn!

We did stop at McDonalds for lunch though. Middle of nowhere and that’s all we had to choose from so we went with it! In my opinion (although I only eat McDonald’s or fast food when I have no other choice) but anyway in my opinion I think it can be a good choice if you choose the right thing.

I had a Southwest Grilled Chicken salad and skipped the tempting French fries. I ate some popcorn in the car and made myself wait until I got back to my apartment to snack again!

mcdonalds-Premium-Southwest-Salad-with-Grilled-Chicken.jpg

It wasn’t nearly as beautiful in person. 😦

And on a side note – I’m not saying the Southwest Grilled Chicken salad is a good healthy choice but I think it was the best choice out of the fast-food restaurants we had to choose from. Just because it’s not perfect doesn’t mean it wasn’t a good decision that you can be satisfied with. 🙂

When we got back I unpacked and caught up with my best friend/roommate then ate 2 whole grapefruits. Wowza. But I was dying for something refreshing and grapefruit always satisfies my sweet tooth and makes me feel a little detoxified. It’s delicious!

I almost thought about not working out… But then I remembered how terrible I felt sitting in the car for 5 hours. Disgusting.

I did Week 12 Legs of BBG (it’s my last week of BBG!) and it felt so good! I love plyometrics and it was my first workout with my new Polar A360 Activity tracker so I was excited to see how BBG would size up to my other workouts.

29 minutes for 313 calories burned is pretty good!

I made myself a shaker with water and BCAAs (I use AminoX brand) and drank 1/2 of it before my walk.

Usually if I do a BBG workout I won’t get in some kind of cardio because I’m usually crunched for time. However, I looked at the weather forecast and since today was gorgeous and the rest of the week is rather drab I decided to take advantage of it and go for a 40 minute walk with Duke (my roomie’s dog).

41 minute walk
We soaked up the sun and when I got back I finished the BCAAs.

Just a note on BCAAs – a lot of people ask me if I use protein powder or what’s the best healthy natural supplements for women. I personally have protein powder and BCAAs and pre-workout but I mainly use BCAAs after workouts. I rarely use pre-workout (it’s a natural kind) and as for the protein powder I usually use it 2-3 times per week at most as a mix-in for my greek yogurt (it tastes just like chocolate pudding!).

image_skuBSN540206_largeImage_X_450_white.jpg

The brand of BCAAs I’m currently using

But why I love BCAAs:

  1. Low calories (you can find ones without any sweetener and ones with natural sweetener). The sweetened kinds almost feel like I’m drinking an exotic yummy drink.
  2. Quickly digested – drink them on an empty stomach or while working out/after you workout because they will be quickly absorbed
  3. We learned all about how amazing they are in Biochemistry – if you wanna geek out with me about how they entire into the TCA cycle send me an email at missdoctorfoodie@gmail.com !! I’d love to 🙂
  4. Perfect for protecting hard-earned muscle gains but not adding too much bulk. Essentially they’re perfect for people who want to tone-up but also lose fat.
  5. They give you a little bit of energy! Sometimes they even curb my cravings!
  6. They help speed up recovery time! Seriously I’m way less sore the next day compared to when I don’t take them.
  7. I’m sure I’ll think of other things to add to this list…

Anyway… they’re great!

After my walk I showered and ran to the grocery store to pick up the things I need to make food throughout the week. I decided against meal prepping tonight because I had wayyyy too much work to get done.

For Dinner, I heated up some of the rice and black bean + veggie dish I had made last week and added some salsa and cheddar cheese. Then I added some dried shallots from Penzey’s Spices on top because my aunt gave me an entire jar over the weekend! I love shallots! They’re amazing on everything.

EK0504_Rice-and-Black-Bean-Pilaf.jpg.rend.sni12col.landscape.jpg

This kiiiind of looks like what mine did. It wasn’t pretty enough for a picture though.

I ended my day with a bottle of Kombucha – I’m spacing on the brand right now but the flavor is “Trilogy” – it’s my ultimate favorite.

dai_gts_syntrlgy_z.jpg

I googled it 🙂 – the brand is Synergy

I like drinking Kombucha as a treat or when I need some probiotics – generally after drinking or feeling blah from unhealthy eating. I’ll definitely do a post on probiotics and why they’re so amazing soon. Like this if you’re interested!

sea-salt-caramel_Pint.png

Oh! I almost forgot. I opened up the freezer and saw the Talenti Salted Caramel Gelato I had left in my boyfriend’s freezer. AHHHHH. I ALMOST had some. And then my mean boyfriend said “but what about your shape-up for summmeeerrr??” He was joking but I almost ate his head off. However, I did put it down unscathed. 🙂

This is my final activity goal completion/summary. It gives the steps, miles, and calories burned. I’m not sure how accurate it is but it seems reasonable. I’m mostly going to compare day-to-day.
Overall, my first day of the challenge was pretty successful. I’m kind of glad I failed right away so that I could practice my getting right back on track skills. LOL.

How’d your first day go? Wanna join?! Read my previous post about the challenge and comment/like it. I need all the support I can get! 

Like and follow me for more healthy lifestyle posts!

 

 

Leave a Reply

